Virginia Cuts Cosmetology Clock-Hour Requirements

Virginia has decreased minimum cosmetology training hours, aligning its educational standards with California, Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island, Texas, and Vermont. The Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation issued final rules in June that impact cosmetology instruction. AHP summarizes the changes for you below.

Effective September 1, 2024, cosmetology curricula must be based on a minimum of 1,000 clock hours—a decrease from the previous 1,500-hour requirement. The final rules detail hour allocation for each subject based on the new curriculum:

  1. Orientation and business topics (45 hours)
  2. Laws and regulations (10 hours)
  3. General sciences (55 hours)
  4. Applied sciences (40 hours)
  5. Shampooing, rinsing, and scalp treatments for all hair types, including textured hair (25 hours)
  6. Hairstyling for all hair types, including textured hair (65 hours)
  7. Haircutting for all hair types, including textured hair (125 hours)
  8. Permanent waving and chemical relaxing for all hair types, including textured hair (115 hours)
  9. Hair coloring and bleaching for all hair types, including textured hair (160 hours)
  10. Wigs, hair pieces, and related theory (15 hours)
  11. Straight razor use and shaving (20 hours)
  12. Manicuring and pedicuring (75 hours)
  13. Skin care (160 hours)
  14. Makeup (35 hours)
  15. Body and other treatments (20 hours)
  16. Hair removal (35 hours)

If you have questions, email the Board at barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov.

Please note: We have recently updated our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. Learn more...