Rhode Island Decreases Hour Requirements

In June, the Rhode Island legislature adopted Senate Bill 758, which affects required hairdressing and cosmetician training hours.

An applicant for a hairdresser and cosmetician license is eligible for licensure after completing a course of instruction in hairdressing and cosmetology that consists of a minimum of 1,000 hours of continuous study and practice. This is a decrease from the previously required 1,200 hours. The bill reduces training hours but does not alter the curriculum or scope.

A hairdresser and cosmetician is an individual who “arranges, dresses, curls, cuts, waves, singes, bleaches, colors the hair or treats the scalp, or manicures the nails of any person either with or without compensation or who, by the use of the hands, appliances, or of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, creams, powders, oils or clays, engages, with or without compensation, in massaging, cleansing, stimulating, manipulating, exercising or beautifying, or in doing similar work upon the neck, face, or arms, or who removes superfluous hair from the body of any person.”

Date effective: June 22, 2023.

Please note: We have recently updated our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. Learn more...