The Nevada Barbers’ Health and Sanitation Board (Board) submitted proposed rules to the Nevada Register of Administrative Regulations in August 2022 that impact the following areas:
- School applications
- Continuing education
- Practical training
AHP has summarized the proposed rules for you below. If you would like to submit written comments to the Board in support of, or in opposition to, the proposed rules, email firstname.lastname@example.org and reference LCB File No. R044-22 in the subject line.
The proposed rules would require all individuals applying for a license to operate a barber school to file a $200,000 surety bond payable to the Board. Applicants would also have to submit the following financial information, depending on the type of applicant:
- If the applicant is a business entity: Submit a credit report from a consumer reporting agency for each member, partner, or officer of the applicant.
- If the applicant is a business entity operating for at least two years: Submit audited financial statements prepared by a CPA for the two years immediately preceding the application.
- If the applicant is an individual or business entity that has not been operating for the preceding two years: Submit proof the applicant is financially capable of operating a barber school.
Instructor Continuing Education
The proposed rules would require licensees renewing an instructor license to complete 16 hours of continuing education (CE) within the 12-month renewal period. CE would have to be in the form of seminars, courses, or other training methods, with two hours in teaching methodologies. CE would have to be approved by the Board and relate to barbering or the teaching and practice of barbering.
Anyone seeking approval for a CE course or seminar would need to submit an application and course material(s) to the Board.
Barber Exam Applications for Cosmetologists
Current law allows a cosmetologist who has 400 hours of special training in a barber school to apply for the barber exam. The proposed rules would require the cosmetologist to complete a 250-hour refresher course if they apply for the exam after 12 months of the special training.
The proposed rules suggest that no more than 10 percent of the required practical education hours be performed on a mannequin.